

Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe University

13466 W. Trepania Road, Hayward, WI 54843

Charter School Authorizer Board Meeting

December 22, 2023 12:00pm – 1:00pm LCOOU Boardroom

Minutes

Mission Statement

The Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe University mission is to provide Anishinaabe communities with postsecondary and continuing education while advancing the language, culture, and history of the Ojibwe.

- 1. Call to order by Chairman Jason Bisonette at 2:02 pm.
- 2. Roll Call

Present: Chairman Jason Bisonette, Monica Isham, Daryl Coons Jr., Melissa Lewis, Marie Basty, Kyle Van Acker, Gary Gerber

3. Approval of today's agenda

Motion to approve today's agenda. Motion by Marie Basty, second by Daryl Coons Jr. Final Resolution: Motion carries Yea: Monica Isham, Daryl Coons Jr., Melissa Lewis, Marie Basty, Kyle Van Acker, Gary Gerber

4. Approval of previous meeting minutes

Motion to approve previous meeting minutes. Motion by Gary Gerber, second by Kyle Van Acker Final Resolution: Motion carries Yea: Melissa Lewis, Marie Basty, Kyle Van Acker, Gary Gerber Abstain: Monica Isham, Daryl Coons Jr.

- 5. Public Comment None
- 6. Liaison Report
 - Charter Operation Updates
 - 1. Authorizer Report Due December 15, 2023
 - 2. ICS Audits Due December 15, 2023
 - 3. Letters of Intent Due February 1, 2024
 - 4. Notice of Intent to Renew a Contract: April 30, 2024



Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe University

13466 W. Trepania Road, Hayward, WI 54843

School Updates

- A. Akii-gikinoo'amaading did not submit a monthly report by the due date 11/09/2023.
- B. Renewal Application process beginning.
 Paul Tweed will be assisting Janet with this process.

We will ask for the application to be submitted no later than January 5, to allow for a couple of months of exchange if more information is needed.

- 7. Other None
- 8. Executive Session

No Executive Session

- Next Meeting January 19, 2024 Next meeting will be January 26, 2024. The University is closed on January 19, 2024 for Treaty Day.
- 10. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn meeting at 2:13 pm. Motion by Marie Basty, second by Melissa Lewis Final Resolution: Motion carries Yea: Monica Isham, Daryl Coons Jr., Melissa Lewis, Marie Basty, Kyle Van Acker, Gary Gerber